Posts Tagged ‘The Search’

That Vital Spark: a Neil Munro Anthology

March 26, 2008

strang-1920-trimmed-small.jpg 

Neil Munro [pictured above] is known to many as the author of the immortal Para Handy stories  – but he was much more than that.  A great historical novelist with works like The New Road to his credit he was also for most of his life a popular columnist on the Glasgow Evening News.  On his death in 1930 he was praised as a Highland historical novelist in the tradition of Scott and Stevenson. The idea of this anthology is to present as wide a selection of Munro’s writings as possible – poetry, criticism, travel writing, short fiction and also the surviving chapters of his unfinished novel The Search.

Click on the image below to link to amazon.co.uk where this anthology can be ordered at a discounted price.

For more information about Neil Munro check the Neil Munro Society website http://www.neilmunro.co.uk/

Advertisements